A Child’s Christmas in Wales by Dylan Thomas

A Child’s Christmas in Wales (MP3 19:42)
Click link above and listen as Dylan Thomas reads his delightful Christmas story….

A Child’s Christmas in Wales by Dylan Thomas (1914-1953). Read it on line here and listen (above) to the author read the story.

One Christmas was so much like another, in those years around the sea-town corner now and out of all sound except the distant speaking of the voices I sometimes hear a moment before sleep, that I can never remember whether it snowed for six days and six nights when I was twelve or whether it snowed for twelve days and twelve nights when I was six….

Tags: , , , ,

12 Responses to “A Child’s Christmas in Wales by Dylan Thomas”

  1. art predator Says:

    Thank you for posting the recording of Dylan Thomas reading this marvelous story.

  2. Lew Says:

    Yes, thank you. the youtube version claims to have the version in which Dylan Thomas is reading the work, but it’s not him.

  3. Lew Says:

    I think I have that same LP only I don’t have a record player any more but I refuse to discard any of my collection. I’m sure I will again have a record player.

  4. steadyjohn Says:

    Yes, do get a record player; there is so much material out there that is not otherwise available. There are turntables out there that connect directly to your computer and create MP3 files from you LP’s.

  5. l gray Says:

    Listening to Dylan Thomas read this story was the perfect ending to my Christmas Day, Dec 25, 2009. Thank you.

  6. Ralf Gmell Says:

    Many years ago CBC aired a version of this poem, spoken by Dylan, and consisting of black and while photos of Welsh scenes.
    I have been searching for years to fond a copy of this, but no luck.
    Are you, by any chance, familiar with this version?
    Thank you
    Ralf Gmell

    • steadyjohn Says:

      I am not sure I’ve seen that version but I will look into it. Is it on LP, CD or what? The version I presented here is on a LP Vinyl record. Thanks for your comment.

  7. Marilyn Says:

    Needed this – and only from the source! Every year I take out our family’s well worn edition, New Directions Book with woodcuts by Ellen Raskin, and really wanted to follow it only with Dylan Thomas’ voice – many thanks!

    ps Earlier today CBC Radio 1 repeated a 1959 interview with the poet’s mother: My Son Dylan (on Rewind, Michael Enright)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

